No worries! 4 step plan to be a worry warrior!

Hello loved ones!

In times of worry and anxiety, we all could use some help. This 4 step plan is created to help you get through difficult times. By reading, writing and creating, but above all applying, you will have tools to get through anything.

questions-1328351_640The plan covers one month of reading, writing, creating and application. You could of course already be helped by day 1…God’s Word can do that 🙂 If you are like me, you will probably need a little more practice. And repetition. And repetition…did I mention repetition? Can you tell that I am somewhat ADD?

 

I know that writing, creating something epic (or not so epic) and time to apply what you just learned takes a little time. So I selected 3 beauties (read-verse or verses) for a week instead of 1 for every day. You can also just pick 1 out of the 3 to work on for a week. But be sure to at least read all of them. The main thing is that the text comes off of the page and into your action plan for life 🙂 OK let’s get to it!

no worries

 

1 Start by reading the verse(s).

(After you pray for guidance of course) Then re-read. (I need to because sometimes I am so busy in my head or distracted that I don’t remember the first sentence…oh look..a squirrel!…sigh). What does it tell me? What does it depict?

2 Write the verse or verses out.

I have a cool leather traveler’s journal that I write in. Super handy dandy because when I get to the end of the booklet, I just make a new one and put that in 🙂 While you write, you spend time in the verse so it is easier to sink in. Win-win!!

3 Create!

prov-6 doodleYou can create something epically cool to make it visual and make it stick (in your head and heart that is..not the kitchen sink). Or an epic “failure”. You don’t have to be Rembrandt or Picasso. Remember that you do this for you and no one is watching over your shoulder. Below is a fun ” failure” I did 🙂 Proverbs 6:6, “Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise:”

If you are anything like ADD- me, you’ll find that creating an image makes the text easily recognizable and easy to remember. You are spending time on pondering what it actually means while coming up with a way to illustrate it. That is so much fun! For inspiration you can google for doodles, or bible journaling on Pinterest. Youtube has great great tutorials too! I also highly recommend Rebekah R Jones: . She does wonderful things in her journaling Bible and shows you exactly how to do it. For doodles I would most definitely get inspiration by visiting Sue’s awesome website

If you are hesitant to add art to your Bible, you can always use a sketchbook or a planner. You’re the boss 🙂

4 Apply!

Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. Matt.7:24

Application is therefore very important. Our Lord tells us that. And good for your soul! But how? Give me some ideas!  I knew you would ask me that! OK, this is what I do:

After I have read, written and  created, I have a pretty good idea as to what God is asking me, or telling me to do.

  • I write the verse on a sticky note and put it on my bathroom mirror,
  • Then I try to memorize the verse,
  • Then I praise Him and thank Him for the Word that He gave me in His glorious Bible and for the Word who was made flesh and died and rose again for me. (1 John 1),
  • Then I pray. I talk to Him and express my situation and emotions. And then….,
  • I let go. No worries! Yes, it is possible! He cares and fights for me. If according to His will, I have no reason for worry. I trust and believe Him. That is the key. If you continue to worry, you don’t really trust. Right?

Have you ever been out of your mind worried and out of the blue something you never would have thought of made it all better or at least do-able? Guess who did that? Yep!

Even when things don’t change you can and should thank Him. For He has something else in mind for you. And maybe you need to make a change in your life. Also good to remember is that He is strong when you are weak! Remember Moses? He had trouble with his speech and was very insecure. God used him to make His plans happen. God is in control! When you realize that, it will give you peace. The peace that only God can give you. Not the world.

 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus”- 1 Thessalonians 5:18 

I sincerely hope you will have fun and will be blessed by His Word. It stood the test of time and it is here for YOU in the time that you are here on earth. It is meant to inform you about Him and to help you cope in this life which is a shadow of that which is to come. This isn’t your best life now. You are storing up treasures in heaven for the life to come! What a reward!

For extra inspiration and help:

I created the SOAPIE bible study method. Based on the SOAP method but I added some elements. I find it to be helpful in applying the Word and to see how I grow. You can find it here.

The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace. Numbers 6: 22-26

Much love,

Petra

Chirp at me :-)

