Proverbs 5 Honey lips

lips mouth with droplet

 

“3 For the lips of a strange woman drop as an honeycomb, and her mouth is smoother than oil: 4 But her end is bitter as wormwood, sharp as a two-edged sword.Her feet go down to death; her steps take hold on hell.”

Now the woman here could be a literal one, but in Hebrew the word wisdom and folly have a feminine nature. So Solomon used the picture for foolishness as a strange woman.

My father in law has this saying that funny enough my mom also used. It goes like this: “you catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar”. Sounds rather manipulative in a way but it is true. One reason I don’t trust smooth talking salesmen. Or any smooth talker really. “When it is too good to be true, it probably is”. Another one of those truths that are timeless. But oh how tempting some of the proposals can be. Keep both feet on the ground, breathe deeply and think. Can it wait? Can I sleep on it? DO I really REALLY need it/ her tomorrow still? What will it cost me? And what are the consequences in the long run that I handily try to shove to the back of my mind? Will it affect my soul? Will it take me away from what God would want me to do?

Another good reason to read your bible every day, to keep the Word fresh in your head so you are better armed against the enemy.

Love,

pffPetra

 

 

Chirp at me :-)

