God, our branch manager.

Guest post by my husband, Matt!

Birds and fish were the first living things created by God. The Bible is filled with references of birds. In 1 Kings 17:6 God told the ravens to bring food to Elijah. In Matthew 10:29 Jesus said that the Father knows even when a sparrow falls. In Luke 12: 24 Jesus said that the Father feeds the ravens who have no barns, but how much more are we His children loved by Him.

Not too long ago, my wife and I needed to get some things done at the bank. We were probably in the office for the better part of an hour. I must have looked at the plate on the desk a hundred times before it hit me: Branch manager.

Some years ago now my wife and I were planning a trip. A long 8 hour flight on our return to America. We can safely say that by far flying is my least favorite thing to do. It seriously terrifies me. I prayed and prayed and prayed some more, asking – begging God to take the fear from me. During that week leading up to the flight, I told her that I felt alone. Like God wasn’t listening to my prayers. One night as was the custom then, I was reading the Bible to her. And that night I read Luke 12. I got to the 24th verse and couldn’t continue. My eyes welled with tears, my voice stopped. ” Consider the ravens: for they neither sow nor reap: which neither have storehouse nor barn. And God feedeth them. How much more are ye better than the fowls?”

God is never away from us, even though we may think so sometimes. It takes something so little and inconsequential to open our hearts and know that He is always taking care of us. If He loves and cares for birds, how much more does He love and care for us.

Matt

Chirp at me :-)

